Recording a dance album...

Hotpink345

Hi everyone,

I want to record a dance album...in my bedroom. Yes, I have a very low budget. I love dance music and I'm glad because I feel like dance is one of the easier genres to do on a computer.

Anyway, this is my first time recording something myself. I have a MacBook, and I want to get Logic Studio.
What else do I need? I don't have money to buy mics for my friends to record parts, so I'll just have to do all the instrumentals on the computer.
I don't need an actual physical controller (even though that seems like the more user-friendly option), because Logic has knobs/switches right on the screen, correct?
For vocals, do I need to buy a mic and MIDI interface (that's what you use to connect the mic to the computer, right?) or can I just sing through the mic on my computer and just mess with it to make it sound better? Keep in mind my low budget in your answers. Also, sorry if I sound like I don't know what I'm talking about--I'm a total beginner! I look forward to your advice! :)

Oh, dear. :(

I'm not trying to sound unsupportive, but let me clarify a couple of things... First off, you "don't have money to buy mic's" yet you have $500 laying around for Logic?? :confused: :confused: :confused:

No, singing into your computer's mic is not going to yield any results, and no amount of tweaking within Logic is capable of fixing that. With no controller (keyboard), how is it that you intend to compose music?

My guess is that you are intent on simply arranging samples within Logic (or some other editor), not actually creating music of your own. If that's the case, download Audacity and play around with some free royalty-free samples you can find various places around the internet.

If you want to get serious about actually making music, you would need:

1. Recording/editing software: If you have a MacBook, you already have GarageBand - which can get you started.