Recommend a bass amp

Freddy

I have no experience of bass guitars, but I bought a bass (Yamaha TRB) for my son yesterday and have just been DIing it so far through a Yamaha Magicstomp that I had anyway.

For recording, I'm thinking I'll get a Sansamp Bass DI.

However, I'm assuming that he will be better off with an amp as he learns to play. Any recommendations on a decent, reasonably priced practice amp? Or is DI fine for bass?

your son will benefit from having an amp, I have three sons aand all play music out now...my bass player son uses a Ampeg Pro6 w/4-10 cab, 2 grand rig, but he started ona cheaper practice amp. The bass player in our band uses a Beringer head w/4-10 cab thast costs $300 bux, he's been playing for 40 years and has other amps at home, but uses the Berry (dunno why) it sounds okay to me...you can get a good buy, check out the amps, your kid really does need one to develop his playing style.

You have to consider all angles - will he end up playing bass? Will he end up opting for guitar etc?
Get something 2nd hand from a music shop that you can plug his bass into and get a sound from.
Me, I bought an 80w Clubman with a 200w Etone box 1st. After a few years & some money I bought a Marshall Superbass MkII - now I have an attenuator as the superbass' 100W is too loud for almost anything & needs heaps of that loudness to get tone from the tubes - hence the attenuator (Tubecube).
I kept the Clubman so that I now have a moderately loud s/stae amp, a very loud tube amp & a way of getting the sound I want fro the loud one without the loud.
Just don't let him use a stomp box or amp sim with h/phones......

After 35 years of bass playing I still haven't found anything that sounds better to me than my 70s era Acoustic 370 through an Ampeg SVT-50DL cab. I used to own 2 Acoustic 301 cabs, wish I still did.

I've also played electric and acoustic guitar through it, with appropriate outboard pre-amping...

I agree with the 2nd hand option.