Recently bought MIDI keyboard, how to use with a tascam cassette recorder?

Milk

So I found some random keyboard for 15 pounds, the said price online is 100-140 pounds. It doesn't seem to good but that is not the problem.
I'm wondering how I would be able to use it with a Tascam 488 MKII cassette recorder. What do I need to get a sound recorded once I plug it in through the MIDI cable?
I have never done this before. Do I need other things?

Um, you can't use a midi cable to record audio. I am not familiar with the Tascam, but I would suppose you'll to to run 1/4" cables from the main outs of the keyboard into 2 of the Tascam's inputs.

What he said. MIDI is data. For that matter, there's no MIDI jack anywhere on a Tascam 488 MkII anyway.

What kind of keyboard is it? I'll assume it's the kind with black and white keys in a long row, rather than the sort with a whole bunch of square keys with letters written on top, but the specific model, or at least type, matters. For one thing, if it's just a controller, you need a synth of some sort.

There are two types of devices that can be described as a "midi keyboard." One is a keyboard controller that produces no sounds at all. They are used to control sound production devices, either standalone units or computer software (VSTs). The other is a keyboard controller combined with a sound production device -- either a synthesizer or sampler or, occasionally, both. If yours is a controller with a sound production device it will have some form of audio out -- either a line out or headphone jack. You'll be able to plug that into your Tascam. If it's just a keyboard controller, you can get a MIDI interface for your computer and use the controller (with the right software) for producing music with your computer.