reamping help?

p.babs

Hi there,
I'm new to re-amping, and I've already run into a problem.

Ok, I recorded some 'dry' tracks from my guitar, through a DI box, (radial jdi) and into my presonus fire tube to cubase 6.

ok, then i hooked up my radial x amp (through the fire tube's head phone jack) then to my amp's guitar jack.

seems simple enough to me-mute the tracks you don't want recorded, tell the mic'd tracks to record, and hit record. and it does work, except that it is like the amp is being bypassed-it is playing the dry tracks, with ZERO distortion coming out of the cab.

is there something i'm missing here? I thought that any input into the guitar jack would come out the other end 'distorted'-just as if i had played it through the amp in the first place?...

any help would be appreciated guys and gals.

I don't think headphone output is the way forward.

Use a line out on your interface and assign your dry recorded track so it plays out through that line out.

Then, as you say, set up a new track to record from the mic.

If you do it this way, you can use the headphones to monitor the entire mix, including the new guitar tone.
It helps to hear it in context.

You want to use a balanced +4db line output on the back of your presonus. Then you want to route the dry guitar track to that output in cubase.

Things to note:

-Keep the guitar cable from the X amp short, if you have something 3' or less then use that.

-Use XLR (femail) to TRS cable when connecting from your firetube to the x amp. This is less of an issue with the length but I personally like to keep this run under 25' if possible.

-DO NOT put any effects on the dry track you are re-amping in cubase, don't normalize, limit, compress etc... Just don't.

-Ajust the trim on the x amp to taste, but honestly I wouldn't go over board with it.