Really Cheap Mic Preamps

mhetheridge

I'm a newbie and I know this is probably a stupid question but, how bad are the multichannel preamps such as the Nady PRA-8 or the SM PR8 Eight-Channel Mic Pre-Amp? They're both like $99.99 at musiciansfriend. I have a motu 828 which has phantom power to only two of the 8 inputs and would like a multichannel preamp for the remaining inputs (well at least 4 of them).

They are not even worth wasting your money. IMHO your best bet for cheap preamps is to buy a yamaha mg series mixer. That way you can get six perfectly okay and usable pres for 200 bucks, and you will probably find the mixer very useful too.

honestly, for $99.00 you'd be better off buying the Yamaha mg10/2 http://www.8thstreet.com/product.asp?ProductCode=20115&Category=Mixers it has 4 nice sounding mic pre's (better than Mackie) it has 2 inserts that can be used as seperate direct outs (on two of the channels) and the other 2 pre's can be panned left and right and sent out of the mains (stereo outs)...this way you can have 4 mic pre's leaving the mixer sperately.

by far a much better board and pre's than you'll find in behringer/mackie/Nady/SMProAudio...If you have $199.00 to spend and need more than 4 outputs you would even better off with the mg12/4. with 6 mic pre's and some similar creative routing (it has an added stereo bus) you can get all 6 mic pre's out individually.
http://www.8thstreet.com/product.asp?ProductCode=20365&Category=Mixers
you could always use a small mixer down the road as you continue to upgrade!

you might be ok with the $199.00 SMPro Audio mkII http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7...4496264/g=home/search/detail/base_pid/240160/ which is an eight channel pre with many more features than its $99.00 little brother, but I have not heard it. Its 2 space rack size and features makes it look nicer than anything in that range, but you know how looks go. maybe worth the gamble as a noobie?