Rare Triangular(ish) Room: Advice on Layout

chotaa

Hi everyone. It's my first post here, where I always stumble upon a lot of great advice. I've searched the forums but was not able to find a situation similar to mine, so I created a new post.

I'm a composer, and just moved to a new space (apartment building) and trying to put together a decent sounding home studio in one of the rooms. I've read quite a few articles on speaker and absorption panel placement, however they almost always assume the room is rectangular. So I'm having difficult time figuring out where to place my speakers and desk.

Speaking from the experience you have, where do you think would be the ideal placement for speakers? Also how close should the speakers be placed for the best sound. I will be using Adam A7X monitors.

Drawing and dimensions are pretty precise and column 1 and 2 shows the exact shape of the corners. Not sure if it is suitable for or requires the use of bass traps.

Wall A: Adjacent building
Wall B: Hallway
Wall C: My living room
Wall D: Outside

Thanks for the help :)

Home-Studio-Plan.png

Yigit K. Guc

Usually a room should be wider / taller at the rear than the front, but in your case I think you'll be better off with your speakers at the bottom of the drawing facing toward the hallway door at the top. Then Yes, you'll need bass traps and also absorption at the reflection points. More here:

How to set up a room
Acoustic Basics

--Ethan

I agree with Ethan as usual, but I would try a few different set ups to be sure. We don't normally like to suggest facing a corner but I would also suggest trying there on top of facing the window on the bottom. You can use the following program to test the room to make a more informed decision if you have a mic laying around: Room EQ Wizard Tutorial - GIK Acoustics