Question:Mic Positions and Stuff

tpresz

Hi,
This is kind of related to metalhead28's post earlier:
Being somewhat new to recording, I have never really been able to get a 'big' guitar sound. Haven't had much time to experiment either (although I think I will try some of metalhead28's methods).

I'm guessing by other posts I've read that you don't want to place mics at different distances from the speaker? In other words: one 4" away and the other 3' away?
Please forgive the question, I'm sure it's painfully obvious to most of you.

I'm kind of looking for a little theory behind the explaination -not too deep though.

My thought was to split the guitar signal. One to a POD the other to my MESA Triple Rec driving a MESA 4x12 and Marshall 2x12. Use two mics, one for each cab. Route the POD straight to the PC. A total of 3 tracks.

I have no experience with phase correction, so I may need help with that later -sounds like you can just zoom and align the signals graphically?

Where you place the mic is largely dependant on the type of sound you're after. Some people prefer a dynamic close mic and a condenser at a distance. There is nothing wrong with having mics at different distances but once you do that you've got much worse phase problems to deal with.