Question about recording with 488

Smoove03

Im new to hardware period. I have a 488 8 track, MPC 2000, Kawai KC-20 keyboard, Alto S-8 mixer, guitar, and a computer with Cool Edit Pro.

The genre I mainly work with is hiphop and rap. I have no live band playing into mics. So I have to record every instrument seperately. I was wondering how can I record my mpc, then my bass, then my keys, and so on with the 8 track when it seems like I have to be playin each instrument at the same time.

When you record onto the tape, is it possible to record the drums, then rewind the tape back and record over it with the keys on track 2, then rewind back again and record the guitar and so on? Is that how a multi track works? Or do I need some other piece of equipment to record.

I was thinkin about just recording directly onto my computer (which would be much easier and digital quality), but then that would make my 8-track useless. What do I do? I hope this aint confusing. Thanks for any help I can get!!

Smoove

Yo Smoove+o3: {Sounds like a good name for expensive vodka}

I've had a couple of 488s and you can do some good stuff.

What you need to do is read the OVERDUBBING SECTION of the 488 manual.

I used to do the drum machine and chords -- this will establish your meter. Then, you can add one track at a time, up to 8 of them. [don't bounce too much as you lose control of bounced instruments]

Make sure you put your "recorded" tracks, like the drums and chords, in the CUE MODE. Then, when you add another track and are happy with it, you need to put that track into the CUE MODE as you add another track, etc.

You don't need to worry about how loud/soft the CUE MODE tracks sound in your head set -- they are finished tracks but not yet mixed -- when you decide to mix, say, six tracks -- then you need to set your faders and eq if you need any, and add your reverb.