Question about promotion

AMSProductions

Ok, I have no creative way of wording this, so here goes;
Facebook artist page, pros and cons?
I currently have no desire to be a part of Facebook as a person, however as a musical entity I am curious about its power to carry my music to a wider audience.
I'm concerned, though, that the "social" outweighs the "network" aspect and I really don't want to become just another in someone's "friend" collection. ("oh, look at all these bands and people on my list, aren't I popular!?!?")
I have no experience with Facebook, so I need someone to either confirm or deny my suspicions that it's a colossal waste of my time to even set the thing up.

It could be either a colossal waste of time or your best marketing tool, depending on how you make use of it.

If you can get a FB band page set up to look OK and use various tools to aggregate your content to it, it could be useful. (e.g. if your site has an app that announces your blog posts or populates the music player or something.)

Facebook also has the advantage that if you've got a friend or fan who you trust, you could make them an admin of your official fan page and let them maintain it for you.

I wouldn't care about the people you mentioned who just collect bands - they are useful.

If you set up an artist/musician page, nobody knows you at the beginning. Someone has to search and find you. As long as you have that artist/musician page, it doesn't count as "friends", it appears in MUSIC section of people who click LIKE button on your page. The more people like your page, the more people can see it and visit it.
If it's done in a good way it can't bring any harm. It's free :)

"Nothing attracts a crowd like a crowd".

If your FB page has 3 fans, you look unpopular (and the features available to it are more limited). If you have thousands, then it looks like a cool place to hang out!