quattro questions

msgrape

I'm fairly new at home recording as you will soon know.
I have a Dell, Pentium 4 with a sound blaster audigy 2
I recently purchased a quattro......just because it was there on ebay.
Now here is my stupid question.......do I have to have seperate speakers and will it somehow play through my 5.1 surround sound pc speakers? I would like to someday purchase a pair of good monitor speakers but in the meantime.....is this workable?
I 've already learned a lot from reading on here.
Thanks a bunch.

msgrape

Quattro answer, but I have a Quattro question

I just purchased a Quattro today, too. To answer your question, you won't be able to use your 5.1 PC speakers to play back sound directly from the Quattro. However, what you may be able to do is go to the 'Control Panel' from the 'Start' menu, then select the 'Sounds and Audio' utility. You'll see tabs for Audio and Voice. I'm not entirely sure which tab is more relevant, but you can choose which audio you want to record with and which you want to playback with. So basically you would choose the Quattro to record with and your PC soundcard device (whatever's connecting your PC speakers) to playback whatever you record. I just tried it with Sonic Vegas 4.0 and it seems to work alright. I hope this helps your situation.

However, I have a question, too. Anybody out there who has a Quattro, I have this issue: I can get audio coming from the computer through the Quattro fine, but I cannot simultaneously listen to the audio from the computer with a mic I have going into the input of the Quattro. If I hit the direct monitor button, then I can hear the mic input, but I lose the computer audio output. Does that make sense? Is that then just a limitation of the Quattro? It seems like that's a pretty major limitation. So if that's the case, anybody know any other USB devices out there without that limitation?

Thanks,
Cris

quattro