Punch it! An overdrive question.

ridgeback

My current set-up.
Fender Mexi Standard Strat with Carvin SHB kit (dbl coil, sngl coil, sngl coil)
72 Fender Twin Reverb
Blue Tube Overdrive

I'm not much of lead player but I'm trying and learning. I've been playing rhythm for many years. I play in an Alt-Country/Rock/Punk type band. I like the over-all overdrive sound I have with the BlueTube but when it comes to lead time it doesn't put me on top. I've tried riding my guitar volume and raising it during leads but at full volume it's gets a little too gritty. I've been looking at some two channel pedals and wonder if anyone has used these.
plexitube-top-labeled.jpg

lqb_persp_1.jpg

sfx_03.jpg

All three have what I believe I need and I've narrowed down to these. Thoughts or opinions?

I've had Tube Screamers in the past. I liked them. Not really the sound I'm after now. Also I'd rather not throw another pedal in the chain. These pedals offer "boosts" on top of their overdrive. All have true bypass.

Have you tried any volume pedals? The Ernie Ball comes to mind. I really like it. I push my Univalve with it. Set the volume pedal at full, set up the amp with the desired over-drive sound then back the pedal off.

I haven't really tried it on any of my high-gain amps.

For live performance at gigs I use a volume pedal that has a preset pot that lets me set a rhythm sound when the pedal is all the way up and a lead tone when the pedal is all the way down, this was refered to as a minimum volume pot. A nice thing with this is that you can fade betwen the 2 sounds whenever you need to. My volume pedal is an old Ernie Ball that is at least 20 years old-I got it used-and is built to last probably 60 years more!

Well, I have looked around and there are volume pedals with the minimum volume pot-but the Ernie Ball no longer adds it to their pedals. I think Boss and Zoom had them, but are plastic construction and don't last too long if you stomp them too hard.