Professional Sounding Vocals?

FKHUL

Hi,

I'm a total newbie to all of this and don't know anything about recording. I'm a singer, and have recorded my own music for years. I've used Acid, Cakewalk, and Adobe Audition. Before it was for fun, but now I'd like for my music to sound more professional. My question is probably hard to answer, but I would like to know the minimum number of things I would need to have professional vocals. I hear lots of things about pre-amps, compressors, microphones, soundproofing, normalizing, etc. I just want that professional sound to my voice, I've got my music to sound great, it's just that the vocals are a problem. I don't want them to sound like I recorded them with a cheap karaoke mic anymore. At the cheapest I possibly can, what equipment would I need for it to sound like it was recorded in a studio? Do I actually need to soundproof rooms and things, or will good equipment do the trick? You all probably get questions like this a lot, and I'm sorry to be so vague about everything. I appreciate any responses you can give me!

Thank you!

J

You need a decent condenser mic, a pop filter, and some kind of compressor, and maybe a touch of reverb depending on what sound you are going for.

I get pretty professional sounding vocals using an AKG Perception 200 condenser mic, a pop filter, and whatever compressor plugins I have in Cubase.

Good space, good mic, and good pre. After that, some tweaking in one of the programs you have. It will take some experimenting, but there are many good threads that can help you. Good luck.
Ed

A decent condenser microphone, a decent pre en some mixing skills.

Try this: copy your vocal track to two other tracks, leave one like it is for the transients, add some compression to the second and some really heavy compression to the third. Blend to taste.

A preamp starting with the Grace 101, API, Neve, John Hardy, etc.

A LDC mic from Neumann, Soundelux or MG. Plan on investing over a thousand.