Problems with Samson Meteor mic LATENCY!

Kei

I know you may be thinking that I'm just a newbie who doesn't know that you have to search for your problem before making a new thread BUT despite everyone talking about latency in USB microphones, I still have some doubts. Sorry.

Okay so I'm the worst when it comes to noticing if my audio track fits the instrumental song. I purchased a Samson Meteor microphone and I didn't notice the latency until someone else did and told me. So... editing tracks is out of question by now...

Searching, I came across a web which said that if you plug the headphones into the microphone and sing that way, the latency problem is fixed! Since you sing while listening to yourself and the track at the same time.

And so I did, but actually it doesn't make sense to me, because I listen to my voice exactly at the same time I'm singing. Shouldn't I be listening to myself with a little latency in the headphones when they're plugged in the microphone so I can fix the problem... manually while singing? Isn't that the point?

And, since I didn't notice my track not fitting the instrumental the first time, I obviously can't make any difference between the two methods (if there's a difference at all...). So, I'ts p lame but I don't really know if this new method is working...... Can someone explain me what should I listen while I sing? Does this really fix the latency problems?

If not... is there a method to solve latency problems in USB microphones?

By the way, I have a laptop with win8.1 and use Audacity to record.
Sorry for my lame english level, I hope that you understood everything allright :o

Thanks for your help...!

Plugging the headphones into the mic doesn't solve the recorded latency (if there is one), it solves the playback latency. So you're not hearing your self 100ms later.... or whatever the latency is.