Pro Tools, Wavs, and Audio CDs,...

TheloniusMonk

I am a newbie, have some basic questions:

If you have a pro tools file, will you lose sound quality by converting that to a WAV files?

If you have an Audio CD that was created using WAV files, will you lose sound quality by extracting the files out of it?

typical WAV files are uncompressed. Meaning they will not lose information when encoded correctly.

If you have a pro tools file, will you lose sound quality by converting that to a WAV files?

Pro Tools is not an audio file format. The PT file you open up is just a data file that references stored audio information in your audio files folder. Most of the time that stored audio is in WAV or AIFF format already. But when you bounce your recorded session to disk...no you will not lose any information when you bounce to a WAV file at the same sample rate/bit depth of your session.

If you have an Audio CD that was created using WAV files, will you lose sound quality by extracting the files out of it?

no...provided you rip the CD to WAV or another uncompressed format. And still retain the same sample rate/bit depth (44.1kHz/16 bit for CD)

So if you used Pro Tools to record a session, how could it already be in wav format? That doesn't make sense, .. until you save it or converted to another file format, it is still a Pro Tools file, isnt it?

Also, how could a utility rip an audio CD with the same quality as the original audio file? Wouldnt it depend on the ripping software you used, and couldnt it be very possible to get a bad rip of the files?

Isnt it easier just to keep the raw wav data files?

Think of it as 'process' and 'content'.

Protools (and Logic, Cubase, etc) is a process that does work for you. When you create and save a Protools session, you are saving the parameters that define your process.