Preparations for 101

Treskalle

Hey!

First of all I could introduce myself. My name is Steff (and I'm an alcoholic... Just kidding). I'm a guy from Norway. Playing bass and sing in one band, also working on a solo project as well. I also work as a radio technician in the world oldest feminist radio! Me and my friend having a studio project too. Studied media and communication (with sound as specialization) for a year. To the fall I'm going to study electronic.

Enough about me, over to the thread;

I've been working with Cubase and Audiocity(?) for a couple of years ago, did not have the greatest experience with them, they where wierd and complex. About a year ago I started studying Media and communication (wich includes sound, here in Norway). They had Pro Tools, and I specialized in sound. Pro Tools LE was what they had to offer. Fair enough;) Back then I was a newb. But after working several hours almost everyday in PTLe, I think i start to understand the basics. I also have a couple of weeks on 003 Factory as a control surface.

[optional]
In our studio, we using a Mbox 2 and a Allen And Heath Zed 24 mixer. We sending as a stereou output on drums, and when we record vocals or other instrument we mic the cabinets up and the mic directly into the Mbox as mono. That's work fine. Just have to do the EQ on the A&H before we record.
[optional]

[Important]
I'm really into PT, it's magic, it's for a beginner as well for a pro, it's got everything. Except for the nice price. But it's worth it. I thinking of take the 101 course and exam. So far I understand the course is over a weekend and the exam in the end of the course, right? And the other thing, if that's true. Is it a good idea to get the 101 course book before the course and start preparations as soon as possible? Thinkin' of taking the 101 the the fall. My dream is (probably as alot of more) getting a operator or expert status. And working fulltime in a production studio.