pre-mixing mastering?

freeztar

Does anyone master individual tracks before mixing, and then master the song? I am a newbie in recording/mixing, and I usually master each track before marrying. Is this commmon practice??? It seems commonplace to me, but who knows? I usually set every track at max vol. and compress/NR and then mix each into one song that I additionally compress/NR. Is this commonplace?

I would say no. My advise would be to not do any normalizing etc. to a track before mixing. It doesn't give you any benefits (why make it louder if you are just going to adjust the volume of it later on?) and it could hurt your sound quality due to extra processing. As far as compressing/eq'ing a track before mixing: I would avoid that as well. Compression and EQ settings don't mean much to a track outside of the context of the other tracks. You have to see how they all work together. Save that stuff for mixing, not before.

And if you record everything properly, you shouldn't have to do any noise reduction durring any phase of song production. You can seriously damage your high end with noise reduction.

As for compressing a song after it is mixed: yes, that is commonly done. However, unless you have some seriously good ears and experiance, you may very well make things worse. After you do the final compression, give it a good listen in comparison to the mix of the song before compression. Don't be afraid to go with the orriginal uncompressed mix if it sounds better. If you are sending the song off to someone else for mastering, I wouldn't do any compression at all after mixing.

Last edited:
Good advice from Chibi.

In general never process a track while soloed. It's how it sounds in the context of the mix that matters.

freeztar said: