Pre/Comp/EQ combo

SlartyBartfast

I'm a home recording newbie with a very tight budget. I'm looking to buy a preamp/compressor/eq combo unit in the $200-300 price range. I've come across the Joemeek 3Q and the ART Pro Channel. Does anyone have any advice and/or suggestions on what to by? Are any others available in this price range that are better?

I'll primarily be recording guitar, piano, and vocals. I'm looking for a clean, full sound.

Would I be better off buying separate units or is the combo route okay?

Thanks!

UPDADE: For those curious, I'm using a supercardioid dynamic mic

SlartyBartfast said:
I'm a home recording newbie with a very tight budget. I'm looking to buy a preamp/compressor/eq combo unit in the $200-300 price range. I've come across the Joemeek 3Q and the ART Pro Channel. Does anyone have any advice and/or suggestions on what to by? Are any others available in this price range that are better?

I'll primarily be recording guitar, piano, and vocals. I'm looking for a clean, full sound.

Thanks!

I personally dont love the "all in one" type of boxes.
A good quality, dedicated mic pre will give you much better results.
Certain pre's with EQ, like from a console, will be great even without the EQ section engaged, AND give you some EQ. I am talking about a Neve 1073 or 1081 type of scenario, though, not a 300 dollar mic pre...

get the best mic pre you can possibly afford, and then look at the best possible microphone. the rest is icing, but you need the cake first.

Just my opinion....

If you can stretch you budget just a little more, the M-Audio Tampa is a pretty good channel strip. The Presonus Eureka is just outside your price range too, although I haven't tried it.