Power in the studio

Yonce N Mild

Voice of Sanity
My brother is buying a house and we will be building a studio/rehearsal room.
He has to have the fusebox replaced and while he is at it he wants to upgrade from 100 amps to 150 is that enough? Anything else you would do? Any special power considerations for a studio?

Please use little words I'm an electrical noob.:o

Despite me being a noob as well, I had to get my breaker box rewired for my build. From what I read online, from a few places, they say that for the studio breakers, it is best to keep it to 3 outlet boxes per breaker (code is no more than 6 per breaker) but since you will be running more power on fewer outlets (rack and what not) you dont want to max out your breakers. Also have all the studio lights on 1 breaker with nothing else on that breaker. I was told by my electrical engineer that I would have issues with a ground hum loop at or near 60hz (or something like that) if I didn't get a seperate ground for those breakers He said that the powered monitors would pick it up as though the speakers were buzzing out at a certain bpm loop.

Despite me being a noob as well, I had to get my breaker box rewired for my build. From what I read online, from a few places, they say that for the studio breakers, it is best to keep it to 3 outlet boxes per breaker (code is no more than 6 per breaker) but since you will be running more power on fewer outlets (rack and what not) you dont want to max out your breakers. Also have all the studio lights on 1 breaker with nothing else on that breaker. I was told by my electrical engineer that I would have issues with a ground hum loop at or near 60hz (or something like that) if I didn't get a seperate ground for those breakers He said that the powered monitors would pick it up as though the speakers were buzzing out at a certain bpm loop.

Thanks! That's a good start.

power in studio