Pop-Song HELP appreciated!!

Julia87

Hey guys,

I'm currently mixing a track by a German band and since I don't have good speakers it is quite hard to mix an entire song with my speakers. Especially the low end is very difficult to mix. Apart from that, I don't know if the mix is good so far or not since I'm pretty new in the field of mixing in general. Therefore, I was wondering if you guys could help me identify some problems in the mix (and maybe some issues I can't really hear on my speakers).

A big thanks in advance to everyone who might comment and help on this one. I really appreciate it!!!
https://soundcloud.com/abbeyroad87/tornado-1st-verse-chorus/s-VPliF

Julia

I like the tune, dudes got a good voice and the song is good MOR Pop rock..
I'm not a mix wiz at all but if I was mixing it I'd spread the drums out a bit more L & R instead of leaving them pretty much dead center. I'd put a little more verb on the lead vocal..

That all said I am NOT well versed in mixing, probably more of a newb than you...it's free advice and ya get what ya pay for on this one.. Good tune though..

it's very commercial sounding. It sounds well produced and everything fits in the mix so well done, the only critisism I could give is the snare could have a little more snap in the mix and be more 'forward' more like a rock mix, I'd probably use something like spl transient designer to give it more punch and attack. I understand it's pop music, but I'd also prefer to hear louder guitars, it wouldn't do it any harm in the chorus. They are only minor criticisms though and mostly subjective so bear that in mind.

I agree that the drums could use some subtle panning. Vocals may be too up front, but only a little. The lower end is tight and boomy in the right ways.

I would not add reverb. The vocals sound perfect.

I agree that something on the right side is need or bring the guitar back to the middle. It sounds so dead there, thought my stereo was screwed up.