Pop Filters: Metal Grating or Sheer Fabric?

Chris Long

Hi All
I have no experience with the pop filters that are made with metallic gratings (much like a mic grill). How do they compare to the types covered with sheer fabric?

Do they seem to suppress pops, etc more/less? Do they color the sound differently? Any real difference at all?

Thanks-

There probably isn't one overall answer as there are different fabric filters just as there are different metal filters and each will have it's own characteristics.

I do know that amongst some gear I lent out recently was a Studio Projects metal filter, the feedback I received from the engineer was that for the particular vocalist, it worked noticably better than the fabric filters that were in the studio..............obviously, others may have different experiences.

:cool:

I lean towards the metal grated ones, but there is one drawback. You'll need to listen for wind noise whistling across the holes. If you notice anything, all you have to do is reposition the mic, singer, or windscreen. For instance, "OOOOOOOO's" in a project caught a lot of wind noise and we had to redo it.

Good luck

Stedman metal...the filter is made so that the air from plosives goes down after it goes through the filter, so it doesn't impead the sound. They're about $50 or less.

I've always had good results from fabric ones, never used the metal ones... something tells me there won't be a huge difference... the metal onces might wear longer tho, as they are less fragile.

Metal filter redirect the air. I never get any plosives (pops) in my recording with them. They sound alot better as well.

Yep! I also use fabric instead of the metal ones. In fact, I have been using it for years and it's really cool to have fabric around. Thanks for sharing the information. I will share pictures in the future.