Please listen and compare (Christian Song)Thanks!

evadbowl

I have a song that I have recorded twice with the old version and an updated version. I really focused on the drums more on the updated version. I went and bought new drum mics and tried to eq them more. Let me know what you think about the all around mix. Im a newbie so dont hold back!

Song title: Child of Mine
www.reverbnation.com/dmthomas

Thanks!

WOW!!!! I love the song and the separation on the instruments sounds fantastic. The only thing I might tweak is the snare, it seems under produced. I could easily hear this on the Christian stations. Very good job. Have a few points.

I could only listen to the first few seconds before I started getting that burning feeling. You know what I mean? Like when you go to church or someone throws holy water on you and you start to catch on fire.

It sounds like all frequencies below 500hz were sucked right out of the entire mix. I'm not sure if bass is seen as "the devil's frequency range" or not, but there is just no balls here, for lack of a more religion friendly word. I'm not going to comment on the song or performances, because it is clearly not something I am the target audience for, but I think you could get a less lethargic feeling here with a denser sound.

It sounds like all frequencies below 500hz were sucked right out of the entire mix. I'm not sure if bass is seen as "the devil's frequency range" or not, but there is just no balls here, for lack of a more religion friendly word. I'm not going to comment on the song or performances, because it is clearly not something I am the target audience for, but I think you could get a less lethargic feeling here with a denser sound.

How do I get a denser sound? What would you suggest? Like I said im a newbie so I am a little confused. Thanks for your post!