Please help if you have time

Garry Sharp

Lost Cause
I know it's busy in here.....this is a work in progress and any input gratefully received

I am trying to do a demo for our new band thing. This is my first attempt this time round, I am not showing much talent as a producer, but anyway. This is a laid back, smooth jazzy kind of thing, called Strange Kind of Paradise. It is deliberately minimalist (that's hw we like things) and it is trying to be almost easy listening.

It is the first song on our little Nowhere Radio page here:

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/album.php?aid=4395&alid=-1

I appreciate that the guitar need redoing, the player wasn't terribly familiar with it, but I am sure there are lots of other blunders I have made that you could help with.

Open season - thanks again.

Garry

Well, for as simple as the drum part is there is some very obvious slop. The vocal sounds a bit muffled or dull, like it was recorded with a cheap mic.

The guitar sound could use a tiny bit of room mic or reverb in my opinion.

Thanks Jake - that was quick...and helpful.

Interesting about the drums, I wonder if its actually my bass playing that's giving that impression. I think I was rushing the bass a bit during the chorus bit. The drums are MIDI triggered samples, and I thought the MIDI timing was quite tight. Or you might be talking about the not very good fills.

On the vox, I always have a problem with harshness on Robbie's voice. I usually use an NTK, but this time I tried with one of her live mic's, a Senn 835, which I must admit thought worked better, but a view from fresh ears is more valuable. I also cut a couple of dB's in the problem areas. Perhaps I overdid it.

The guitar has a little reverb on it, any more was making it too cutting, but I'll try again.

Cheers

Our guitarist says he's going to buy a Blues Junior, so we can mic that shortly. The part on the track is DI'd from a Digitech GNX3.

more cowbell!@!! :D