Please don't laugh.

nicka

Here is a song that i am having trouble with getting the mix together.
I am no professional singer by any means but i am hoping it will get better in time but i hope my mixing improves even quicker.
The lyrics are by my 16 year old nephew and i am trying to put some music to it for him.
Any feedback would be appreciated good or bad ,i can take it...

Its the first song on the link below.

Fighting with the demons.

http://www.soundclick.com/bands/8/nickabrahams_music.htm

Cheers
Nick.

Nice guitar sound. Vocals are too processed for my likeing, they sound boxy. A better vox performance will make the mix work better. Distorted guitar sounds are a but thin. Not diggin the reverb on it. Drums need to be more punchy upfront.

the clean guitar & vocals parts don't need any input because that seems to be polished. I guess you're wanting to talk about the heavy stuff?

Finding new drum sounds to use will make a big difference. Once you've got full-bodied drum tones, they have heavy influence on the rest of your mixing and tones.

You don't get much guitar (overdriven/distorted guitar) to work with when you do it direct-in. You get too much of that narrow guitar mid sound, and not enough of the whole picture.

For vocals, you continued on into the distorted parts with very wet reverb, so check out the difference of how vocals mix with heavier music when you dial the reverb (substantially) to the dry side. It works for the clean guitar stuff, but heavy music usually matches almost dry vocals.

i like the roger waters pink floyd 70's vocals, reverb/accoustics and all :)

the drums are recorded live aren't they, i don't work with live drums so i'm useless there.... but i agree with the guys that they need to be a lot more prominent in the mix....

what mic do you use for the vocals?, sounds like a dynamic? what about the bass?