Please critique my song...

noiseordinance

Ok, this is my first song for review. Let me start by explaining a couple things. One, I'm buzzed as hell but it's really the only way I can get the nerve to post a song, so forgive any typos. Two, I'm a guitarist that is ok at bass and drums. Three, I suck at vocals. I have a deep voice and I'm one of those people that refuses to acknowledge that I need to sing in lower octaves, so I spend a lot of time trying to sing out of my range. And four, I just had braces put on AND had four extractions, so if being a bad singer isn't enough of an excuse to suck at a solo project, this surely intensifies things.

That said, I'd like some help. I have recorded once or twice, but it was really half ass. This is my first decent attempt. I have pinpointed several areas where I'm WAY off key so I plan to update my vocals a little. However, I'd love some input on EQ, levels, compression, things to make my mix louder, etc. Also, I'm off key a lot and I'd be thrilled if there was any programs ya'll recommend to do a subtle pitch correction throughout my song.

Finally, this is my own rendition of a song by The Smiths, so I don't take credit. I figured what better way to learn recording than doing a cover? So with all that explained, please review my song, tear me and my techniques apart... I want to get better at this... thank you!!!

The link: http://www.box.net/shared/lteogx43nk

Hello man, cheers, first of all, you don't suck at singing at all. There are some notes out of key, but that's why people created Auto Tune, don't be afraid of using it, everybody does. The mix is great, don't raise the levels it will kill the dynamics for your song with the limiter, right now is very good.

I would double the distorted guitar and pan it over 70 L/R to open the sound a little.

I wasn't crazy about the kick sound, is like the kick for a heavy metal tune, is too tight for this particular song.

Cheers...