play this and sing that - how?

smirky

I play guitar and bass and have a question: how can it be learned to play (for instance) a complicated bass line while singing a differently phrased melody (you know, like Sting for example)? in other words, how can I make my singing independent of what I play?
thanks for any tips, smirky

It's a matter of practise, mostly. I can't do very complex stuff, but at least my hands have some independance from my mouth. And it didn't when I started playing music 15 years ago. And I haven't really practised. :)

and when you practice.. start off by either saying or whispering the lyric while you play as opposing to singing it outright.. that allows you to focus on your playing and the coordination..

Its like learning to seperate your hands on piano or you limbs on drums, playing (thinking, feeling) two different timings or beats at the same time. It can be very frustrating I know, even the simplest melodies and chord progressions seem almost insurmountable due to this but, just keep at it. Soon you will get it right every now and then and then more often until you cant imagin how you never could do it. Then comes the next one and you start all over.

Break them both down into the smallest unit of time.

Walk through them together as slow as is necessary to play and talk it perfectly - and that can be one syllable at a time and one note at a time.

Keep doing it - VERY SLOWLY - until you can walk through the entire lick, line, whatever, flawlessly.

Once you have it in time, work it up to speed.

Always play it at a tempo that you can play/sing it perfectly. You'll bring it up to tempo and then you're good to go.

Oh, by the way, did I mention SLOWLY!!!!

foo

P.S. SLOWLY, goddammit!!

I record the vocal or the guitar peice and practice during playback. Thank god my income isn't reliant on my ability!

As said before, practice, practice, practice...
(I'm no whiz at this, but I have found that with repetition, I get better)