Phantom power to condensor and dynamic?

Mip

I've got an MBox2 on order, and have just received my SM58 and SM86. I noticed that there isn't a separate phantom power switch for each preamp in the MBox2, so is it going to be a problem using both of these mics at the same time - i've heard that it's ok to send phantom power to a dynamic mic as long as the cable is balanced?
Also got my Wharfedale Diamond Active 8.2's - i'm just itching to plug all this gear in and get recording.
Anyway, any help is appreciated.

I'm no expert but I read somewhere, I think it was here, where it wont hurt the dynamic to have phantom power on. You might try the search feature.

Also, I run both dynamics and condensers when my band plays live and it doesnt hurt them. There's only one switch for phantom power. I think mackie, which is the board we use, would put a switch for each channel if it mattered.

Marc

Your dynamic will be fine. Phantom power through a ribbon mic is a big no-no, unless it is one of the ones designed to take phantom, but that is a relative rarity.

There's nowhere for the power to go in a dynamic mic, so no problems having the phantom switch on.

Though I have heard of people getting electric shocks on their lips when using some mics live - could this be because the mic isn't properly earthed and phantom power is on?

Dags

Dags said:
There's nowhere for the power to go in a dynamic mic, so no problems having the phantom switch on.

Though I have heard of people getting electric shocks on their lips when using some mics live - could this be because the mic isn't properly earthed and phantom power is on?

Dags

No that's not because of phantom power. That is usually because of faulty wiring in the venue, or a grounding issue with the amp and the mic. Something like that.

So the solution would be to NOT EAT THE MICROPHONE!! :D

I had a guy talking to me on Sunday about a weird problem he was having where an SM58 would zap their lips and a Beta58 wouldn't?