peaks or not when mixing

keerus

ok, i'm mixing some general rock music. some indie, some punk, whatever. i'm new to mixing so i need some tips. when you're at the mixing stage, which is better: let the waveform breathe, having no peaks and not all crushed next to 0dB (and let the mastering engineer make it "loud"), or carefully tune the mix so it comes close to 0dB but no peaks (without the use of a hard limiter or anything else that would force it), or make it as loud as possible with peaks and all during the mixing stage? i am guessing the latter, but when i see the red light go on, it bugs me = ). just wondering what all your input was. thanks.

justin

Blue,

You may have to excuse my ignorance here but:

I read the article. Absolutely correct all the way down and something people need to understand. But it seems that if one were to actually understand level structure, and one were using the 24 bit format:

1) One would understand that -15dB FS = 0dB VU (Which you already stated).

1b) 0dB FS then equals a whopping +22dB VU (As you know)

2) At 24 bit, there is no need for bit cramming. Bit cramming will inevitably get you ultra hot +22VU signals that have to be brought down with either individual faders or the master fader....WAY down.

3) If one has observed good level practices and is now mixing, why would one need to push the board THAT hard? I realize you want to use all available bits but you stated that at -12 or 15 on the masterlink meters is not anywhere near loud enough basicly.......when was the last time you heard of anyone printing an analog mix at +22dB VU?!

3b) I dont care what board you use, you will get an invariably different sound when you push that hard on the op amps...maybe good, maybe not.....it may even be out of the "sweet range" of some of the much better boards. What do you do? Will printing that mix at (what is essentially) 0 to +6 VU be a bad thing?