PC based vs. Standalone

airbornemama

I've posted a similar thread in the newbie category but truly, the people that know the most wouldn't be the newbies, eh?

I have extensive experience in the live music production world but know next to nothing about multi-track recording other than helping the engineer out from time to time on some post-production mix-downs. I would like to have a very humble recording system on a minimal budget that will work to record a small band of 4 to 5. (from concept to completion)

Any help and insight would be very appreciated!! Thanks.

Two different schools of thought of this topic.

IMHO, the beauty of a standalone unit is that it only does the recording/mixing/mastering thing and doesn't share system resources with Windows, Internet, e-mail...you name it. These are dedicated machines designed to do one thing well. If you buy one of the smaller units like Korg D12 or similar, they are very portable so you can easily take the unit to the gig or someone else's practive space.

The downside (for some) is that the editing functions can be kind of time consuming/cumbersome because you're working with a tiny little screen and a limited amount buttons, so you do a lot of scrolling through through various menus, etc to accomplish anything. That was my experience anyway, there are plenty of folks here who will disagree. Ultimately it depends on your work habits. Some of the high end units have CRT and mouse ports so you can work with a regular computer screen and mouse.

The PC route is nice (for me) because I like everything displayed at once of the monitor and I like using a mouse and keyboard to do my editing. I've turned off all the bell and whistle crap that comes loaded with most PCs (instant messenger, etc) to keep the system resources from getting bogged down.

Most people already have a PC laying around so it's a simple matter to buy a modest outboard unit to get the digital audio in and out of the PC.