Patchbay...... help which one????

bfoundation81

ok im starting to get a bit of outboard gear and it is no longer any fun reaching around back of my rack and pluging and unpluging stuff.

But im new to the whole patchbay thing.... So any help on maybe which one to buy or what might i need for certin seup. Please any help on this subject would be great!!!!!

I use DBX PB-48's. You can connect balanced or unbalanced gear to them, switch them from normalled to denormalled operation, and the connectors hold the jacks nice and tight.

Reactions: NL5
In the $100 and down category I would go with either the DBX or the Neutrik patchbays.

However, I do have a Behringer one also that seems to work just fine. It offers even more normalling options than the others, at half the cost. It is also encased which may protect it from dust damage (which can actually be a lot worse than people realize). On the other hand, it also makes it harder to swap a card out, and the normalling switches could eventually present a problem. I have also noticed that cables plugged into it are very loose and come out too easily which does concern me a bit. I can't say too much about the Behringer because since I plugged it in, it has only been patched in the back maybe three times, and never in the front. I did meter it once. It semmed like it added about .5db of noise, which seems pretty respectable. Just a thought. As a side note, my next patchbays probably will not be Behringer anyhow:)

A patchbay shouldn't add any noise, it should basically function as an extension of wire.