Patchbay Connections

kiwimike

Hi everyone.

I’m a newbie here, so please bear with me...

I’m a NZ singer-songwriter currently based in Germany. You can check-out my material on my MySpace site - just go to myspace.com and search "Mike Brosnan..."

There's 4 songs from my current album, plus 2 from a soon-to-be-released live CD/concert DVD. Everything there has been mixed by me…

I’ve searched the archives here thoroughly but whilst there's many posts that answer parts of my question, I'm unable to find a complete answer. I’m hoping someone here can help?

First a bit of background:

After 10 years mixing “in the box” I wanna do at least some of my mixing in the analogue domain. To this end I’ve purchased a Sound Workshop 1280B (with 8 x “Super EQ’s) which has been heavily hot-rodded – external power supply, re-capped, op-amps replaced, etc…

Particularly I wanna use the 1280’s pre’s for recording and the EQ’s for mixing. Essentially I plan to do a hybrid ITB/OTB mix, using the best effect and processor plugs I have, plus the 1280’s eq’s and maybe reverb and comps…

The 1280 has the usual channel line ins/line outs, though bus sends are limited.

My interfaces are 1 x MOTU 1224 + 1 x MOTU 2408, both also hot-rodded a la Black Lion Audio. This gives me a total of 16 I/O, which is all I require for the work I do here.

I also have 4 stand-alone pre's, 2 x Mindprint and 2 x Brent Averill 1272’s

Oh yeah, I'm running Logic 8 Pro on a G5...

I wanna have the possibility of using all the pre's on the 1280 plus the channel strips, so we’re looking at using all 16 i/o’s on the MOTU’s.

I currently have 2 x standard Neutrik ¼” patchbays. More can be purchased if required?

And I intend bringing the XLR mic-ins on both the 1280 and the channel strips forward to a panel on my rack.

Now, to my question:

I wanna set-up a patchbay to maximise my connection options; to make it easy to use, and (HOPEFULLY?) tidier than the bird’s nest of cables currently lurking behind my rack.