Passive MONITORs for under $500?

JetCityMatt

I want to get some monitors that I can use with a Yamaha receiver/amp that has a "pure direct" button to bypass its EQ section.

I'm going to send the line out of my computer into one of the inputs on the Yamaha and I'm also going to use these monitors to listen to the radio and CDs.

I am totally new to this.
I am limited on space and money so I thought that it makes sense to buy passive monitors that I can use with my stereo instead of spending twice as much on speakers for my new stereo in addition to monitor speakers for my computer.

thanks!

Event 20/20's passives are about 300.00..Then take the remaining couple of bucks and look into a used poweramp...go listen to the monitors before you buy..there are a buttload of passives that are inexpensive..Happy hunting :)

All that just for radio and CDs, huh? ;)

Tannoy Reveal Passives

then with the rest:

A stereo amp of your choice (between 50w-100w)
A decent power conditioner to help mold your power source to be less noisy and protect your gear.

All at a neighborhood friendly price of just under 500 gold pieces.

:D Yo Jet:

You can research monitors on this site and read until you're ready to collect Social Security.

Most folks were big on the Yorkville passives==I had a pair and they were great.

I recently got a pair of KRK ST8 passives; they have an 8" woofer and the Yorks only a 6.5 and it DO make a difference.

Nice and gutsy and a good buy for the $$s involved.

Green Hornet :D :D :eek: :cool:

The Green Hornet said:
:D Yo Jet:

You can research monitors on this site and read until you're ready to collect Social Security...

I recently got a pair of KRK ST8 passives; they have an 8" woofer and the Yorks only a 6.5 and it DO make a difference.

Nice and gutsy and a good buy for the $$s involved.

Green Hornet :D :D :eek: :cool: