Panning, volume and EQing

twsknight

I'm an experienced gigging drummer, starting up a punk band with similar experienced friends. Although I've not got my ideal home studio set up at the moment, I'm recording rough demos of songs as we write them, and using these rough demos to work on my mixing techniques.

I receintly recorded a rough track with guitar, bass and vocals being recorded through a toneport gx (I'm planning on getting something like a firepod once i've got the cash). I then put a keyboard through the toneport and recorded drums one piece at a time so I had a seperate track for each. It's all going into Cubase.

I'm currently working on getting it to sound as good as I can as practice for when the band get together to record the tracks properly. I've been listening to a variety of albums and I hope to achieve something along the lines of Blink 182's Enema of The State in terms of mixing. Everything is just so clear on that album, despite how many things you can hear at certain points throughout the album.

Panning is my main problem, as I'm not sure of what sounds best. I know the obvious suggestion is keep playing with it til I find the right sound for me, but surely there are standards, or recommendations at least.
I have this uncontrollable habit of panning things equally to each side. So I'll pan the main guitar part say R29, then the bass L29. Then it comes to the ocassional second guitar part, and the instinct is to pan it L29, but I don't want it to muddy up the bass, as I want the bass to be heard in the mix without getting lost in the mix.
Then I get to the drums, and for the time being I have the kick and snare Centred, with hi-hat, high tom and one crash mixed around L18 and the ride cymbal, low tom and 2nd crash mixed around R18.
I've kept the vocals Centred, and I think that's the one thing I'm happy with.
I've been messing around with it so much, it's got the point I don't know what sounds better and what sounds worse.