Order of Componants?

Chode

Heya all,

I'm fairly new to this game so have very little idea what I'm talking about, but I was wondering if there's any sort of order you should route your signal through rack componants.

For example, should the preamp always be the first in the chain, middle or last? I'm not looking to string together truckloads of gear, at this stage eq and preamp, but I want to try to get the cleanest signal possible.

Probably been asked a million times...

Cheers,

If you are going to run a microphone thru stuff, ALWAYS the mic preamp first. Then, whatever order produces the results you seek.

Sometimes I run eq then compression, other times, I run compression then eq.

Probably a good idea to run a noisegate before anything else too, unless you are using the gate as more of an "effect" on the audio, like doing a gated reverb, or trying to soften the leading edge of a signal, then you would run it after something else.

No rules, only what work for what you want to accomplish.

Chode said:
For example, should the preamp always be the first in the chain, middle or last? I'm not looking to string together truckloads of gear, at this stage eq and preamp, but I want to try to get the cleanest signal possible.

Hey Chode

Preamp always comes first, otherwise there's usually not enough level in the signal to pass through the other gear. If the signal is already amped, such as from a guitar amp or line out from a synth, then this stage is not so crucial.
Microphones will always need some kind of preamp to raise an control the input level.

After that, I read somewhere that a general rule of thumb is gating (to knock out any superfluous background noise) though every channel strip I own doesn't have a gate on it, so presumably this isn't an outright necessity. Stripping unwanted noise from the audio file can happen once you have recorded the audio into your computer.

After gating comes compression, to control the dynamics of the sound being recorded.