Optimal config for 12 sheets of fiberglass in this room?

daveyhavok

So i just ordered 12 sheets of rigid fiberglass (JM-817 2") (that's really all i could afford for now, i'm a poor student, i might buy some more eventually)

What do you think about this layout for my room? is there a better way to do it? i read Ethan's article, but since i dont have the money to do all that's recommended i'm wondering if this is the best way to use the 12 sheets....

We're going to record one instrument at a time and the style of music is Punk/ Hard rock

Thanks

panels1.jpg

panels2.jpg

One instrument at a time? Skip the gobo approach & hang 'em in the corners, and whatever is left, hang on the walls, with at least two symmetrical around the sides of your mix position. Above too :)

ok i thought i didn't have enough fiberglass to spread it all over the room.... i'll post another pic to see if i get your idea correctly

daveyhavok said:
ok so something like this?
How exactly do you intend to use the room, Davey? I mean, are you mixing in there, too?

Also, what are you using to make those boss drawings, and where can I get it?

I'll be mixing in another room, i'll probably move some of the panels into this other room afterwards but for now i'm concentrating on the recording part...

The ceiling is about 7' high and the panels would be 5' high

The drawings were made with Solidworks, it's on my brother's computer (he's an industrial designer and that's what he uses). Really useful software..

daveyhavok said:
I'll be mixing in another room, i'll probably move some of the panels into this other room afterwards but for now i'm concentrating on the recording part...