Opinions needed...

deadroom

I have made a few posts so far but for those that don't know me, i recently quit my job to do my home studio full time.

As many of you may feel, Im on a never ending quest for knowledge and would like for some of you to offer advice about some recent work i've done.

So you know what I am working with...
PreSonus Firepod into iMac using some decent mics, into Cubase Studio 4.

I feel like there isn't enough clarity within my individual tracks and when mixed i don't feel like the recording sounds full enough...

I was thinking its my gear, which it probably has alot to do with, but i know it has alot to do with me also.

Im a noob so anything helps. Thank you.

Here is the site where my music can be found.
www.myspace.com/deadroomstudios

Haven't listened (using the chain at the moment) but looking at your MS photos, you're... Um...

* Are your speakers right up near the walls?
* Are you in a corner?
* Are you setting up a mic so the singer is actually singing *towards a wall*?
* In a closet?!? In a closet with *foam* on the walls?!?
* Is that mattress foam and Auralex all over the place with not even a scrap of broadband absorption??? (those aren't "sound diffusors" hanging - Those are sheets of 2" foam - ANYTHING but diffusive).

If that's actually your current setup, it doesn't surprise me in the least that you're not happy with your recordings...

As I've mentioned several times I am pretty new and trying to learn a lot quickly.

Maybe some advice would be helpful if I'm doing things completly wrong as indicated...

Yo!