Opera Mic

mgiles7

Hi,

I am new to recording, and I have just purchased a korg d16 digital multi-track unit to record on. I happen to be an aspiring opera singer and I am looking for suggestions on what mic to buy to record myself with. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Matt

mgiles, with all due respect the sm57 is a classic rock mike-not a first choice for
classical singing. You probably would be happier with a condenser mike that will give
you better vocal detail. Do you have a good (quiet) area to record in and what's your
budget for the mike?

P.S. Do you already know your vocal classification? (tenor/baritone/bass)

My house is preatty quiet, but If I get too much noise I could easily find someplace close,,,,,Maybe my parents house.
I am a 25 year old lyric Tenor, I have a decent high C when I am in good voice. I have around $300, But I wanted to get some other equipment with some of that, like a good mic cable and such. But I could probably scrounge up some other cash for that stuff.

Most definetly get a good mic cable.
I have the Monster Studio Pro 1000.
Expensive, yes, but worth it.

Good luck,

A1MixMan

mgiles, as you may know this website is primarily oriented towards
various pop genres and rock music.
The best condenser I've used so far on my voice (lyric baritone), is the
Studio Projects C1. If I was doing mostly classical and operatic stuff
I prefer an omni pattern as it sounds more natural to me.
That's why I asked you about your recording room.
Therefore, you may want to try out the C3 as it's a multi-pattern mike.
The Studio Projects line has a "Neumannesque" tone for pennies on the
dollar if you like that kind of sound too.
The website is www.studioprojectsusa.com

P.S. Remember us when you become the "fourth Tenor"!

WOW.....

....Now THERE'S a first! That's one question you don't read here often....ha ha!:D