Opening a Recording Studio

Jeroth

Ok here the story......
I am currently in my last year of school, after that i am going to do the sound engineer course at university. When i have completed that, i am going to open my own recording studio(thats my career goal). I have done mobile DJing since i was 12, and been DJing with turntables for about 6 months, so i know a lot about music and setting up audio equipment. What i want to know is what stuff do i need for a proffesional recording studio, and would anyone be able to tell me or refer me to a site that explains what each piece of equipment does, or tells me what i want to know.

Thanks,
Jeroth

sorry

forgot to add something, i basically want to know stuff like, the mics have to go through a preamp and then into the main mixing console, do u guys know what i want to know. Sorry for such a complicated post.

BTW, im not asking for advice or brands, costs etc, just asking what stuff i will need, then im gonna go and research what it all does. Ive seen so many things in pics of peeps studios and want to start researching now. So im prepared when its shoppin time.

Jeroth said:
Ok here the story......
I am going to open my own recording studio...I have done mobile DJing since i was 12, ...so i know a lot about music and setting up audio equipment.... Thanks, Jeroth

Do you know why restaurants have a high failure rate? Because restaurants are opened by people who know a lot about cooking, but nothing about managing a business.

If there is one thing you should know about owning your own business, it is this:

Don't even think about it unless you are prepared to lose everything and I mean EVERYTHING that you have.

Good luck.