one mic

tremblayj

OK, my problem is that I only have one mic right now and it is a cheap dynamic. I find that i sound better when I sing and play a song at the same time. so I recorded a cover of a howie day song called "collide" in one take. I put the mic at about forehead level and pointed down a bit. This track has had no changes so what went in is what you are hearing.
Can somebody tell how to make it sound a little better? I usually only put a little bit of reverb on it and thats it but there has got to be more.

set up is cheap shure into 802A into delta 44. I am a poor high school student who just bought new acoustic so I am stuck hear a while.

Dude, that sounds pretty nice. You might play with some eq settings to make it more full, but it sounds very unplugged right now. Which is good. Nice and clean, for using only one mic.
Ed

I'm listening to "Complete". I like it. You have a nice voice. It sounds pretty good for just one microphone. Mess with some EQ to take out some of the space(mud) in the mix.

How exactly do I take some of that "mud" out of it. That is what i think needs to go to but I don't know how to take it out.

tremblayj said:
How exactly do I take some of that "mud" out of it. That is what i think needs to go to but I don't know how to take it out.

Do you have parametric EQ? I don't know if you mix on a PC or through hardware? If so try a cut (about -3.2 or so) and slide it around the mids to see where it takes out the most of the dull sound. It's something you just kindof have to play with until you are happier with it.

Yes i do have parametric EQ and I do all mixing on the pc. I did what was suggested with the -3.2 and reposted. I am going to start playing with this so I can perfect it. I find it opened it up a lot and took some of the mudiness away. are there any other suggestions of what I could do to it in terms of effects or eq?

Sounds Good...