One for the Guitar Player

lkmuller

Hello All,

This is the first time in this clinic for me, and I feel like the lamb being led to slaughter, but here goes. I just posted a new song called "One for the Guitar Player" on my site at http://leemuller.iuma.com. I recorded a Takamine Hirade Concert HR5 directly into my computer using Cubase. The "band " is all midi.

I'm a real novice when it comes to mixing and/or audio editing and could use all the advice I can get. Will you please take a listen to my stuff and let me know how I can get better at it?

By the way, streaming the MP3 file will get you a better sound than streaming the real audio file. I don't know why, but that's just the way it is.

Thanks to all,

Lee Muller
http://leemuller.iuma.com

I can only listen to the RA-file.. and I wont bother to comment on that one... sounds like a radio put in water with loads of big fish in the way...

Too bad Meshuggah, the mp3's sound great!
Not bad at all for a canned accompaniment. Made me pick up my axe. How do you get around the copyright issues on posting your rendition of those standards?
I really like the sound of your fretting hand on that neck.
How did you mic the guitar? The squeaks sound real but not too intrusive to detract from the overall sound.
You definitely remind me of the guy that got me started on guitar way back when. He was a firefighter that had a studio in his basement and played some of these same tunes.
One quick nitpick- I know you didn't ask, but that triangle patch in Bossa for Andy: turn down the volume on that channel. It's right, just way too loud. Europa could really use some more feeling in the backup, especially the percussion. Most of the drum tracks could use more low end and the cymbal/hihat sounds just sound kind of hissy and nondescript.