Once again--How do I properly connect outboard preamps---

dcontento

I am pretty much a complete newbie other than playing around with a TASCAM Portastudio I bought a year ago. I've seen a few threads dealing with my particular problem, but I am still not sure what I need to do. I know this is a long, detailed post, but please bear with me.

I have a couple of outboard preamps that I used with the porta-studio by adjusting the portastudio trim level to zero. It sounded ok, but I wanted better quality and am now recording with my computer and Reaper. I purchased an audio interface with the idea of running the outboard preamps through the interface. There are no separate inserts in the interface unit. The chip used in the new interface has a special provision for 0db gain setting which basically converts the circuit to a unity gain buffer. According to the manufacturer this means that the output voltage in the interface preamp is the same as the input. This sounded like a perfect solution, but the problem is that the interface unit has a stated maximum input level for 0 dBFS of +12dBU. Both of my outboard pres provide in excess of 70 db gain and need to be driven a bit harder than +12db in order to provide the color I am looking for. I am afraid that I would seriously overdrive the interface if I used reasonable gain on the outboards.

Hoping I could solve the problem (by throwing more money at it- haha!), I bought an expansion unit with 8 preamp channels that connects to my new interface via ADAT. Now here is where I become confused:

The expansion unit has 8 audio input jacks on the back. They are combo jacks. The manual states that if an XLR cable is used, the preamp switches to microphone level. If a TRS jack is used, the preamp will automatically switch to line level. (Inputs 1 and 2 can be switched to "instrument" for high impedance input so I won't be using these for preamps).