On-the-Road Recording.. suggestions =)

Moonis 29

I have a ($400) Yamaha Acoustic. I recently bought the LR Baggs M1 Soundhole Pickup for it. I've only been playing for about 4 years, learned on my own..

On my home computer, I have just a simple Line 6 Toneport that (to me) is GREAT for scratch recording of ideas and new songs in need of editing. As for programs, I use a combination of Acid Music Studio and Riffworks & Gearbox. I'm set and satisfied with what I have so far..

Now, I'd like as many suggestions as I can get before I start spending money...

I'm looking for some kind interface or piece that records my guitar (not my voice) while I'm on the road, whether its on vacation or just out of town.

Like I said, I'm no professional, and I don't really care how quility the sound is being recorded. I'm doing good on playing full songs without the need of editing when I'm just giving out samples to friends and family. But sometimes I fuck somethign up during a song, and I'll end up liking it when I listen to it over again, haha...

Any suggestions or hints on inexpensive equipment to buy for recording my acoustic on the road?? And like I said, if I really wanted, i'd take my labtop and other equipment but I'd rather do quick recordings without having to sit around for a half hour to hook everything up for a little 2 minutes recording.

A small digital recorder should work. There are several that use a memory card for around $250. I've seen the Zoom MRS-4 for $150, but I don't have any experience with them.

Generally, such devices are designed so that beginners can easily get results, and require a minimum of ancillary equipment. You should be able to plug a guitar cord into one and record. The quality will not be what you'd get with high-end mics, but you know that.