On expanding dynamic range

StylusEpix

I'm new to recording, and I notice that without an analog compressor, the dynamic range of digital recordings is greatly restricted.

I also do photography, and we have a similar problem with digital cameras; properly expose the picture (gain ajustment) and you lose dynamic range in the light tones. For static photographs, there is a solution: with a tripod, take the same photo two or three times at different exposure levels. You can then digitally combine the images to regain the lost dynamic range.

Now, it is clear to me that this same solution can be used in digital sound recording. For example, let's say that I have amic, a mixer and a computer. I'll ajust my recording levels properly, so that I avoid clipping, and will record that as one channel. Then, I will record the same signal simultaneously, but with added gain (I don't know, around 10 to 25 dB ?). I could use the right and left channels of a stereo pair.

So, I end up with two recordings of the same mic; one at the proper levels, one at levels way to high. In the channel with proper levels, the quieter sounds lack definition - which they have in the high gain channel. Digital signal compression usually gives bad results due to this very lack of definition in the quieter sounds - but now, it is availaible in the high-gain channel.

A digital filter can then be applied to merge the two signals together into a single, higher bit-depth channel. The results of running a compression filter on that high-definition channel will be much better than those run on a normal digital recording.

Now, I think I'm describing something that exists already. However, I just don't know what kind of software I need to do that. Does anybody know of a digital audio filter that would do what I'm describing ? I don't have the budget for a compressor, and with this technique, I think I can produce better recordings at a minimal cost.

So, how do I do this digital processing ?

Thanks.