Okay I have defected!! I want a reel to reel!!

Frusciante_Fan

Let me start out by saying that I studied the (cheap) digital market cards for under $500 for about a year before almost buying one. I first bought Mic , then Pre Amp, and then heard alot of recordings done on these magic cards Echo audio and Midi-Man pushes on the market. I WAS not impressed!!

Then I heard a little akai 4 track reel to reel and it was heaven!
But I was also confused, because I didnt know if it was just me? Is my ears off? why is everyone talking about digital so much when this tape machine sounds like the original source? So my journey continued...

So then I auditioned and heard many .wav clips of cards and converters above $1000. Then it sounded better. After that I heard a mytek and apogee clocked through a aardsync. It sounded awesome. Finally what I heard go in, is what I heard come out. And then somthing dawned on me what the guy that owned it said. "It sounds more like analoge". After I heard that I added up the price:

a/d apogee/mytek------around $1000
D/a benchmark/mytek----around $1000
wordclock aardsync-----around $1500

add it up and its $3500.00 just to get it to sound like a 1/2 1/4 tape machine for around $500 on Ebay. And thats just 2 channels

Now I dont mean to start the analoge vs digital debut. Because for major studios it would be crazy expensive to go back to analoge. And lets face it daw software is just AWESOME. So since I only record two tracks at a time, I am thinking of getting a 2 or 4 track 1/2 or 1/4 inch reel to reel. And just going to the local major studio and get him to convert it to digital on his myteks and benchmarks, for a small fee, and then take the files home to edit them and mix in my daw?

OR should I just get a 8 track to leave plenty of room for more tracks and overdubes if/when I need them, and just send the analog reels off straight to the mastering house and let him do the conversion??