Ok all the mastering engineers here take a listen.

nonreversebird

I am an Electrical Engineer and a Professional Musician. I have been reading this BB for some time now and this is what I am getting out of it NOW.

I can appreciate ones selfconfidence in their craft but the one thing all of you are taking for granted.

The overall perspective on mastering you all are pointing out is a fresh set of ears to take ones music and "Master" it.

I have run through my CD 3 times mixing it. Now focusing most on Bass and Drums (primarily kick).

With out the original mix you guys are going to have nothing. A person that is going to master a form of music MUST be familiar with it as well. Like myself I am very conserned someone would mix my stuff somewhat like a NU-Metal band mix or maybe a Screamo HardCore mix.

That is not what I want. I personally want an Old Skool mix beefed up and panned so that it is at the levels of modern heavy rock music. That is what is going on with old records from bands like Rush, Nazareth, Kiss.

That is what I am looking for. Its going to take an ear all right. Its going take an ear familiar with the music.

If you guys dont know what the artist wants their music to sound like you can waste their money and leave them with something that is not them.

do you not agree?

How many of you have declined to master a CD etc, on the grounds that you are not familiar enough with the style and your ears just might not be the right ones for the job?

A good ME should be well versed in a variety of styles. It's not uncommon for an ME to master rock, classical, blues, jazz, hip-hop, country, etc.

Personally I cut my teeth mixing music for a variety of artists for over 10 years before getting involved in mastering. You get a good feel for what quality audio is about, learn how far to push a given style, characteristic EQs, and elements of good vs. bad audio that are common among all styles of music such as imaging, distortion, editing techniques, etc.