Not Sure

tomanderson1991

First of all Hi :) I'm new to the forum as you will tell.

Basically about myself is I'm 19 at the moment living in the UK, at secondary school I studied Music Technology, so I do know about the basics of recording, microphones, monitors etc. I also started playing guitar the same time as that which is 4 years ago now. While I was at college I stopped my interest in music for some strange reason until a few months ago when I thought why not continue what I love doing only problem is now trying to fit it around full time work. But anyway I'm not the best on guitar I can play some piano, and I have bought a USB audio interface today ready to start recording and having fun I'll put current gear below anyway my problem I found was I have no idea what to record should I do a cover of a song if so which one (an easy one of course) should I just make a small song up, it's like everything from school has just gone as in how to get a better sound, how to make the final piece sound better etc.

My Gear isn't that impressive,
3 Electric guitars (1 Strat, 1 Les Paul and 1 SG) and 1 Acoustic guitar.
Line 6 Pod Studio UX2
AKG Headphones
The software I'm using is Reason Adapted

I don't currently have any microphones but looking for any guidance the main thing I would be recording is my acoustic guitar.

Thanks !

Hey Tom welcome to HR.
A new microphone huh. What were you comfortable using in that situation at University?

You should look at a few different deals that offer a SDC and a LDC in the same package and you can't go wrong with a Shure SM57 in your arsenal.

Well I have a basic set up to record my guitar but I have no idea what to record and the few times I've just messed around with my guitar(s) the sound hasn't been that great so not sure what I can do to help

I'm going direct into the interface, the sound quality is okay the problem is that it just sounds kinda off like bass is slightly higher etc