Not sure if this ? belongs here or on the Mic forum.

guitarlover

I started a thread several months ago about live performance. This is something I haven't really done. I'm a classical guitarist and my needs are minor. I will be doing mainly weddings and other smaller venues.

I have a Crate amp (the acoustic model) but there is no reverb. I'm currently using a Shure PG81 mic with it. Bearing mind that a classical guitar, mine at least is very loud for an acoustic but at times still needs a little help.

My question is this: I want to warm things up a little. Even the acoustic amp can sound a little harsh at times. I can either buy a new mic (I will probably do this regardless), a reverb unit, a tube or other warmer pre-amp, an effects processor or some combination of the above.

Obviously, the fewer components, the better. Can anyone suggest a direction to go in? I know some allowance must be made for different venues but I'm unsure where to start.

Any thoughts?

Thanks, Steve

guitarlover said:
I can either buy a new mic (I will probably do this regardless), a reverb unit, a tube or other warmer pre-amp, an effects processor or some combination of the above.

Well . . . reverb will only make it sound harsh and wet.

A (cheap) tube mic pre will make it sound harsh and a little fizzy.

An effects processor will only make it sound harsh and effected.

I'd have a closer look at the mic and the amp. Most often in live situations, when something sounds harsh, it's usually a result of boosting too much high end using a cheap equalizer on their board, the amplifier . . . perhaps both. The microphone may also have something to do with it in some cases. The type of strings you're using and the way you play can have an effect.

Hope that helps a little.