Noob question

seansigep

I think I am ready to take the next step in my homerecording advernture. I want to buy a compressor for vocals. But first, I have a few questions for you guys, which will probably flame me to a crisp, but I have to ask. The search function yielded only higher level answers, so yes, I did try that first.

1. I want a compressor for vocals, but I see there are some for guitars as well, as in stomp boxes. What is the difference?

2. Do vocal compressors come in stomp box packaging, or are they only in rack mountable stuff (I dont have a rack, i want to stay away from that).

3. Can I get a decent vocal compressor for under $100 (please remember I am new in this journey, and not ready to drop thousands on a hobby. I will wait until it becomes an obsession.)

4. Will my mommy ever love me as much as she loves my siblings?

Thanks for all replys, even if they are "Dood, you are such a noob, you should be pwned by us L337 haX0r recording pros."

My gear (hahaha): Schecter Gryphon, Cort Acoustic, Schecter Custom-5 bass, CAD C195 Condenser mic, Behringer Eurorack UB1202, Behringer V-Amp 2, stock soundcard, Dell 2.0 ghz, Adobe Audition 1.5, minimal talent, minimal time.

I'd say give the compressor some time and pick-up a decent soundcard and some software that is VST plug-in compatible, but that's just me. I'm an Alesis 3630 noob :cool: so I can't offer much advice on anything else.

Normally, I have an EXTREMELY low opinion of Behringer products but the one exception are their compressors. They're not too horrible at right around $100.

OK the stomp thing would be a cool "effect". But the differences would be in frequency response, impedience, noise and lack of subtleness.