Noob here. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong

dboyer87

okay, so I'm fairly new to recording and mixing and I had this metal band come in and record. Well we did the whole project and I hate it, I can't seem to get that big stereo sound, everything sounds muffled ( and I eq'ed the hell out of it trying to get rid of that)

Dude didn't have a hole punched into his bass drum the kick sounds muffled and I eq'ed it the best I can.

Can someone take a listen and give me some sort of suggestion on what I should do to fix this mess?

http://www.myspace.com/thewayofthegunmusic

here's their myspace, the music is on there. ( its in wave)

Thanks

I haven't listened, but if it sounds as bad as you say, you might consider triggering samples.

As for the hole in the kick drum, there's these things called scissors ; ).

If you're "fairly new to recording" then that's 90% of the issue. If you've been doing this for a decade or two and everything sounds like that, there's a problem.

That said - I'd bet dollar that's pretty much what the band sounds like. The guitar sounds are terrible, the drums sound like crap, the vocalist doesn't exactly have a particularly pleasant tone. They don't have a handle on their own sound. Recording it isn't going to change that.

"EQ'ing the hell out of everything" is the first sign -- If the core sounds aren't 90% "there" right off the bat, fix the source. Nothing is going to change it. EQ is for tailoring - Not for construction.

If a 6' tall 275# guy walks into a Men's shop looking for a navy blue suit, the tailor is going to have to pull out maybe a 52 or a 54 in the right fabric, in the right color, just to get going. A burgundy 42 isn't going to cut it.

Did not listen to the song yet but I just had a word of advice for you, make it sound as good as you can without adding all the eq's and things. If it doesn't sound good to start with, you won't get it to sound good in the end.

So, this is great advice, but i still need to fix this mess.