Noise VST Plugin / EQ?

Spikeh

This is entirely my fault, and I've learnt from my mistake, but I've managed to record a 7 hour voiceover (yes, 7 hours... plus about 10 hours editing :() with the gain on my preamp set too high :( This was due to me not spending enough time setting up - the SM7B mic was too far away from the vocalist and I didn't register it :(

So, the full 7 hours of recording is full of noise. It's not TERRIBLE, but believe me, I can't put it on a CD like this! I've been messing about with Waves XNoise and XHum, and I've got some decent results. Also tried Nuendo's built in Noise Filter, which is ok, but not quite adequate.

Are there any other techniques I can use to get rid of the noise? EQ maybe? As I've not needed to work with noise before, I've no experience with it and I'm finding it hard to remove the noise without losing some of the vocal quality / the sound distorting / modulating. Any hints would be massively appreciated.

Baaahahahahahaaa!!!

That totally sucks, man. Sorry to laugh at you (it's all in good spirits), but some lessons are just learned the hard way, I guess.

The Waves plugs are about as good as it gets for dealing with an impossible-to-completely-deal-with problem like you have on your hands. Don't you have SoundForge, too? There's a pretty good noise removal plug included with that, I think. Might wanna give it a shot.

Post a small chunk of it and I'll take a look at it for you later if I have time and tell you how I would go about removing your particular noise while trying not to butcher the actual sound.

It's at the studio (I'm at my DAY job at the moment, saving up for that custom built studio I was on about ;P), so I'll get it this weekend and put it online for you, ta :)

Tries the Sony Soundforge noise filter too... it's too harsh, regardless of the attack and release I put on it. The Waves one and Steinberg ones seem to be the best for it at the moment.