Noise and Distortion

blacksummerrain

I'm fairly new to CE Pro and am trying to learn my way around.

For starters, I am getting about -76 Db of noise showing up in my monitor level meter when I have nothing connected to my computer. I have an Alesis QS6.2 keyboard that I've hooked into my Soundblaster mic input but this doesn't seem to be the problem.

I can disconnect the keyboard and the cord from the soundcard and the noise is still present. It seems to be a steady hum. I can reduce the noise level slightly when I turn the recording sound level all the way down in my Creative mixer. However, the -76 level is what remains.

When I play my keyboard through my computer I am amplifying with an Alesis RA-100 through Alesis Monitor One Mk2's. The keyboard is distorting through the speakers. The distortion is like a radio that's not tuned in properly. The distortion level does not go away when I turn off my RA-100, either.

Anyone have some ideas as to what the problem is and how to fix it? I would appreciate any help someone can lend.

Thanks.

I have -63db constantly, and I've never noticed it until you posted this. I've tracked on CEP for about 2 years, and I don't think it's ever created a problem for me, but I honestly don't know...if it IS causing me problems, then dammit, I want answers, lol. Just posting to let you know that you're not alone.

As far as the other problem goes, I don't have any idea, but I don't think it's related to the first one at all. I monitor instruments through my computer in CEP all the time, and I have worse floor noise than you do, lol. But it's either too hot on the input or the output, right? I don't see many other options, but I miss a lot forests that trees obscure.

Thanks, Chris.

By the way, I listened to, "Couldn't Care Less," and thought it sounded great.

I'd have to agree that my distortion problem is probably a matter of me getting input levels correct. As it is with most things, it takes practice to get things right.